side menu icon

2021 WDL_HeroBanner_655x360px

Join us for this year’s Women of Distinction, as we come together on October 29 to celebrate outstanding women leaders of all ages, from high schoolers to grown adults, for their service in the community. Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, we have decided to host a virtual event again this year and hope to add in-person elements as we get closer to the fall.


2021 Women of Distinction Honorees

We are proud to celebrate female leaders who have blazed the trail for the next generation. Their leadership, accomplishments, and community contributions inspire young females to make the world—from the classroom to the boardroom—a better place. This year, we honor three incredible women who champion other women and achieve greater diversity in the workplace.

WDL 2021 Kit_Addleman_200x300

Kit Addleman
Woman of Distinction

Kit Addleman has been a champion for women in the workplace at Haynes and Boone, LLP, where she is a partner. She started the firm’s Women’s Initiative and served for six years on the Women’s Leadership Academy, a training program for women associates. She also is passionate about championing girl ambition, which is why until March of 2021, Kit served as Girls Scouts of Northeast Texas board chair and executive committee chair, as well as a member of GSNETX’s Board Development, Finance, and Strategic Planning Committees.

Kit is a lifelong Girl Scouts supporter, as she is a Thanks Badge recipient (a distinguished Girl Scout volunteer honor), a former Girl Scout troop leader, and a proud Lifetime Girl Scout Member. She previously served as the former Regional Director of the Atlanta Regional Office of the SEC and is a frequent speaker at regional, national, and international conferences on trends in the SEC’s enforcement and examination programs.

WDL 2021 Hattie_Hill_200x300

Hattie Hill
Woman of Distinction

Throughout her extensive career, Hattie Hill has been a champion for diversity, inclusion, and gender equity within the workforce. She has developed successful global diversity and gender equity strategies for many of the largest multinational companies, such as IBM and Southwest Airlines. Currently, she serves as the President & CEO of the T.D. Jakes Foundation, launched in January 2020, to provide the skills, education, and training to lift communities, increase diversity and inclusion, and gender equity, and power the modern global economy through science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics (STEAM) jobs.

Hattie is a celebrated author and highly sought-after speaker who is often quoted in top-tier media outlets. She also has received numerous awards and honors, including being named to Forbes’ Top Texas Women in Business, selected as EY’s Inclusiveness Champion of the Year, and featured on National Restaurant News’ 2018 Power List as well as receiving Dallas Business Journal’s Minority Business Leader Award, the Dallas Women’s Foundation’s Maura Award and Working Woman’s Working Woman Entrepreneurial Excellence Award.

WDL 2021 Cris_Zertuche_Wong_200x300

Cris Zertuche Wong
Woman of Distinction

A senior vice president at Goldman Sachs since 2010, Cris Zertuche Wong supports real estate business operations across the Americas. She is also passionate about supporting efforts that focus on the needs of Latinas of all ages. Cris was instrumental in creating the first Latina Giving Circle, a donor-advised fund, under the Texas Women’s Foundation, and is a founding member of Hispanic 100, a Dallas-based Latina leadership network, established in 1996. She also serves on the Community Foundation of Texas’ Leadership Council and is a member of the Hispanic Women’s Network of Texas.

Cris is a board member of Fair Park First, a nonprofit organization, created to oversee the management and stewardship of Fair Park, a 277- acre Dallas City Park, and National Historic Landmark. A proud alumna of the University of Texas at Austin, Cris invests a significant amount of her time recruiting students and actively supports the University’s diverse student organizations to mentor and prepare students to compete and be successful in corporate roles.

2021 Women of Distinction Co-Chairs

WDL 2021_Mary_Martha_Pickens_200

Mary Martha Pickens
Sr. Vice President
Bank of America Private Bank

WDL 2021_Shannon_Thompson_200

Shannon Thompson
Vice President & Assistant General Counsel
Texas Instruments Incorporated

2021 WDL_Sponsor Block

2020 Virtual Event Recap

Previous Honorees

Lifetime Achievement 
- Cynthia "Cynt" Marshall
- Mary Anne Cree
- Marianne Staubach
2015 - Jan Rees-Jones
2014 - Gene Jones
2013 - Lindalyn Adams
2011 - Caroline Rose Hunt
2010 - Ebby Halliday
2009 - Bette Perot

Women of Distinction 
- Anne H. Chow & Alice Rodriguez
- Sabrina Martinez Harrison & Roslyn Dawson Thompson
2018 -
Arcilia C. Acosta & Linda Perryman Evans
2017 - Sara Martineau & Nina Vaca
2016 - Sarah Losinger & Trea Yip
2015 - Michele Bobadilla & Tincy Miller
2014 - Nancy Ann Hunt
2013 - Nicole Small
2012 - Matrice Ellis-Kirk, Sally Hoglund & Peggy Sewell
2011 - Regina Montoya & Lynn McBee
2010 - Harriet Miers & Becky Sykes
2009 - Lucy Billingsley & Barbara Ward
2008 - Anne Motsenbocker & Clarice Tinsley
2007 - Laura Estrada & Valerie Freeman
2006 - Elvira Wallace-Martinez & Mavis Knight
2005 - Florence Shapiro & Cheryl Sutterfield-Jones

Young Women of Distinction
2020 - Elina Dickens & Abigail Simon
2019 - Mary Katherine Futrell & Gauri Nukala
- Divya Lal & Timarie Luker
2017 - Shelly Goel & Emma Rose Shore
2016 - Anisha Wadawadigi & Hailey Falies
2015 - Devin Bray & Sruthi Tummala
2014 - Meredith Burke & Cameron Wicks
2013 - Grace Cooper & Alexandra Villareal
2012 - Barrett Cole, Sarah Felan & Gabby Gafford
2011 - Andrea Noelle Emery & Marisa Salatino
2010 - Haley Ann Avery & Ashton Gepfert
2009 - Catherine Cannariato & Julie Negussie
2008 - Chanelle Angeny & Whitney Walker
2007 - Bryna Garrison & Amber Meeks
2006 - Erin Cafferty, Sarah Heady & Jennifer Goebel
2005 - Lilianna Delgado & Katie Murray

Man Enough to Be A Girl Scout
2020 - Erle Nye
2019 - Jorge Baldor
2018 - Avi Kahn
2017 - Todd Williams
2016 - Kent Eastman

Previous Keynote Speakers

2019 - Victoria Arlen, Olympian, author & TV host
2018 -
Ann Shoket, Author & former Editor-in-Chief, Seventeen
- Dr. Mae Jemison, Engineer, Physician & first black woman in space
2016 - Lauren Bush Lauren, CEO & Co-Founder of FEED Projects
2015 - Reshma Saujani, Founder of Girls Who Code
2014 - Alison Levine, Explorer (completed the Adventurers Grand Slam)
2013 - Talia Leman, CEO and Founder of RandomKid
2011 - Venus Williams, Tennis Champion
2009 - Marianne & Roger Staubach, Philanthropists
2008 - Linda Armstrong Kelly, Speaker & Author
2007 - Michelle Peluso, IBM
2006 - Cary J. Broussard, Author
2005 - Colleen Barrett, Distinguished businesswoman

Previous Co-Chairs

2020 - Tracy LaRosiliere & Michelle Thomas
2019 - Candace Winslow & Venise Stuart
2018 - Dee Brown & Sharon Morrison
2017 - Laura Downing & Susan Glassmoyer
2016 - Heather Randall & Maggie Kipp
2015 - Katherine Coker
2014 - Elizabeth Gambrell
2013 - Angie, Ann & Kimber Kadesky
2012 - Lynn McBee
2011 - Gina Betts
2010 - Gina Betts
2009 - Clarice Tinsley & Stephen Giles
2008 - Valerie Freeman & Sharon King